Children with autism do not show social attachments. True or False?

Children with autism do not show social attachments, even to parents?

I think the authors got it wrong, it is untrue that children with autism do not show social attachments or attachment to their parents.

Source:

Liu, Y., Li, J., Zheng, Q., Zaroff, C. M., Hall, B. J., Li, X., & Hao, Y. (2016). Knowledge, attitudes, and perceptions of autism spectrum disorder in a stratified sampling of preschool teachers in China. BMC psychiatry16, 142. doi:10.1186/s12888-016-0845-2

7 thoughts on “Children with autism do not show social attachments. True or False?

  1. When my two on the spectrum were babies I was often hurt as, my daughter especially, didn’t show any attachment to me. I was the same to her as a stranger. Now both are very attached to me. I would say they got that wrong too

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well, I’m autistic and I definitely have social attachments. Generally only to one or two people at a time and almost exclusively to them, but I do have them. They are almost too strong sometimes lol and can seem suffocating to the objects of the attachment as I don’t attach to many people at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t show a lot of attachment to my “parents” (the people who raised me), but then, I don’t think many allistic children would have been very attached to someone who treated them the way my pseudo-parents treated me. Their own children weren’t, so I don’t think my less-than-“ideal” (but not nonexistent) attachment to Lou and Bea can be attributed to autism.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.