Tick Tock Ka-Ching

This month isn’t too bad actually, in terms of work load. But I’m still anxious and unsettled. I’ve been living off my savings for the past 3 months so there’s plenty of catching up to do (most of it goes to paying the rent) and work for coming months is yet uncertain.


Numbers and figures, hours and dollars
Time is ticking, time is money
Tick tock, ka-ching

Busy is good, busy is great
Busy with work and clocking hours
Busy looking and applying for jobs
Busy keeping track of time and busy fighting sleepy bugs
Busy counting balances and calculating expenses
Numbers and figures, financial planning and mathematics
Trying to work out the sums oh what a headache*
Busy worrying, stressed and scared
Will I be able to pay my rent?
July August September
Safe for the time being but what about next?
It’s not just rent but utilities too
But more than that, I’m busy hoping for a holiday
Busy wishing I can afford that
Because right now I’m just a slave
Keeping busy to pay my rent
I rather be busy planning for my holiday
This is the reason I keep myself busy motivated
Because I need a break from this crazy busy
(And what if my loved ones are falling sick
I don’t even dare to think about it
Maybe I have just jinxed myself
Gosh I can be so superstitious)
Busy keeping my executive functions working, busy to stop my mind from wandering
It’s hard to struggle between low and high functioning
Busy fighting depression
Not all hope is lost (and repeat a 1000 times)
Busy fighting anxiety
Keep calm and move on (and repeat a 1000 times)
Busy fighting exhaustion turns out to be a real hard battle
And on top of it all, busy pretending I’m fine

Numbers and figures, hours and dollars
Time is ticking, time is money
Tick tock, ka-ching


*Loser earns $X dollars per hour.
Loser pays $Y dollars per month for the rental.
A vacation trip costs $Z dollars.
How many hours does Loser need to work per month/day in order to pay the rent?
How many more hours does Loser need to work and save per month/day in order to budget for a vacation?
Assuming Loser works the same number of hours or more each month, when is the earliest time Loser can afford to go on a vacation? No wait, Loser can’t assume. The question to ask is what is the probability of Loser getting the same amount of work or finding new employment next month?

I actually prefer the acoustic version but this version matches my current mood better. Nothing arrived but keep on busy.

Featured image from http://www.pexels.com

9 thoughts on “Tick Tock Ka-Ching

  1. I’m glad you’re hanging in there. I loved that video!!! Money worries are just awful! So stressful. I’m very familiar with it unfortunately. Thankfully I have you and my other online friends to cheer & support me when times are hardest. πŸ’–πŸ˜˜πŸŒŸ Hold on to the dream vacation! It WILL happen! We’re all sending positive thoughts your wayπŸ’ŒπŸ˜»πŸ’ͺπŸ™πŸ’πŸ’«πŸ’₯πŸˆπŸΎπŸ€πŸ’πŸžπŸŒπŸŒ„πŸŒŒπŸ›«πŸŒŸβœ¨πŸ˜Ž 🌻🌴

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Got it & thanks! 😘 πŸ˜‡ I’m such a natural pessimist, it’s so hard and tiring to keep myself positive but for my dream vacation, I’m trying! Every year, my mum and I visit Australia (she is the only companion I’m comfortable travelling with and she is the only one who can tolerate my grumpiness😜 ). We usually go this time of year to escape from the hot humid summer. Hopefully we can still make it this year! ❀️ πŸ’› πŸ’š πŸ’™ πŸ’œ πŸ’• πŸ’ž πŸ’“ πŸ’—

      Liked by 2 people

      1. She’ll probably be ready to get away from your dad’s grumpiness πŸ™ŠπŸ˜‚ I hope he’s still doing wellπŸ‘πŸ™ There are some great grumps… Oscar The Grouch, Eeyore (my favorite) The Grinch…πŸ˜ΌπŸ˜»πŸ’

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thanks Gran, my dad went back for a check-up last week and seems to be recovering well. He is less a grump but more of a bullheaded person which wears my mum out.
        I grew up watching care bears. When they made a comeback, the first bear I asked my brother to get for me was the Grumpy Bear!!! When I get upset, I’ll take the bear out and put it on display. That is my emoji!!! haha 😠 😜 πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜†

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Like KBG, I’m so glad you’re hanging in there! I’ve been there, and still go there more often than I’d like to think 🌟. You’re amazing; I admire your strength, luv πŸ’ͺπŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ’“πŸŒ·πŸ’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, for a sec I thought you were talking in code words, who’s KBG and I confuse it with KGB, oh dear πŸ˜‚
      You are too kind!! If anything, I get my strength from lovely folks at WP like you and Gran. We can understand/relate to/empathise with each other, we are all struggling but also encourage each other. In some ways I feel closer to you guys than my off-line friends because for a start, they don’t read my blog which is where I share my deepest (and darkest) thoughts. So big thank you to you and Gran and anyone else reading this!!! 😘 😻

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Lol too funny! (In a kind way 😊). (About the KGB code) πŸ’™. I totally feel this way, too! πŸ€—. We seem to share so many interesting things that are not often found in the “general population”, and I think that’s too cool πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ˜Ž The feeling is very mutual, and I thank y’all, too! πŸ’–πŸŒŸπŸ’–

        Liked by 2 people

  3. KBG is close to the Russian spy group.πŸ˜‚ I think of Boris & Natasha going after Moose & Squirrel thoughπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    I’m so happy to both of you awesome, cool Kitty’s in my lifeπŸ˜»πŸ˜»πŸ˜˜πŸ±πŸΎπŸˆπŸ’«πŸ’žπŸ’ŸπŸ’˜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

