It’s all a waste of time

“I’ve never told anyone they are wasting their time when they are gossiping about someone else and I bet when people engage in small talk and conversations, they never thought about the time they are wasting, so don’t tell me I’m wasting my time doing things I like.”

I’d like to take a few months off, go for a walk and spend time in the woods undisturbed.

Is that even possible?

For a month, maybe but any longer seems unlikely (cat, job, rental etc.) although that doesn’t stop me from thinking about it. Now I do know a few people who would say I’m wasting my time thinking about the improbable. And even if I did get the time off to walk, they’d still say I’m wasting my time. Walking itself is a waste of time ~ why walk when you can travel in cars? These are people who think that time should be better spent on the practical and work which will generate income. I often wonder if they don’t realise that in so doing, they are imposing their subjective value judgments on others and what on earth makes them think they have the right to impose their value judgments on others?

When I was a child, I was into reading swordsman and martial arts novels, just as people are into series like Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. My dad told me I was wasting too much time engrossed and fantasising about the impossible. I still find it ridiculous that reading too much can be a waste of time.

My collection of martial arts novels

I was also told I spent too much time watching soaps on tv. Little did we know that this was ultimately how I picked up my Cantonese. I dare say I wouldn’t have learn to speak Cantonese but for those years of watching soaps.

About 6 months ago, I quitted a full-time position and only had one part-time job. In a conversation with someone I’ve met for the first time and someone who barely knew me except that I was on the spectrum, I was told I am better off spending time to look for a job than blogging, which doesn’t generate any income for me. On the practical side of things, I knew what she meant, it was in my objective best interest to focus on securing an employment first (which was actually the reason I went to talk to her). But what she didn’t know and what she didn’t care to ask was why did I care about my blog and what it meant to me. Just because my blog is not a money making tool doesn’t mean that it has no intrinsic practical value.

I’ve never told anyone they are wasting their time when they are gossiping about someone else and I bet when people engage in small talk and conversations, they never thought about the time they are wasting, so don’t tell me I’m wasting my time doing things I like. You don’t help someone in the name of “best interests” by depriving them of doing something they enjoy (and which doesn’t harm anyone), you help by encouraging and developing that interest into something more practical. Moreover, if you said I’m wasting my time on things that I do out of necessity, you are essentially telling me to die. So for heaven’s sake, instead of wasting my time telling me I’m wasting my time on or doing things which are insignificant to you (even if by all objective means, I am wasting my time), the best you could do is to shut your mouth and save a life.

Incidentally, I wasted time this week going out for a hike on a misty windy day. I needed a walk.

“I am losing precious days. I am degenerating into a machine for making money. I am learning nothing in this trivial world of men. I must break away and get out into the mountains to learn the news.” John Muir, Wildness is a Necessity

Leave a Reply

