If I’m trying to be OK, does that make me OK?

I google the word ‘ok’ the other day to check what it actually means when someone asks if I am ok. I don’t know the answer to that myself, I’m so used to my default reply, “fine thank you”, what does ‘fine’ or ‘ok’ even mean? What is the person actually asking or wants to know?

It could mean any of the following:

Am I coping? Barely but trying ~ so I guess this makes me ok.

Am I all right? Not all right but not all bad either ~ so I guess this makes me ok.

Am I dying? No, I am not ~ so I guess this makes me ok.

Am I sick? My physical health is ok. My mental health is less so but not to the point of insanity ~ so I guess this makes me ok. I’m very very sick of people though, is that counted? I guess not ~ so I guess this makes me ok.

Am I happy? I’m not but many people aren’t ~ so I guess this makes me ok.

Am I in a satisfactory state, not bad but certainly not good? (which is how ‘ok’ is defined from my Google search) Certainly not good but is it satisfactory? Wait a minute, let me check what ‘satisfactory’ means…

http://theycantalk.com/image/137482392020

Am I in a good mood? Can’t answer. You are better off asking am I in or going somewhere crowded and noisy? My mood is an indicator of how crowded and noisy the environment is. It fluctuates and I can give you a totally different answer depending on the time of day I’m answering.

Do I pass the OK test?

Did I pass the OK test? You tell me
You tell me

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

